Hollywood’s Exploited: Public Pedagogy, Corporate Movies, and Cultural Crisis

Published Date : 2010

Available in

$95.00

:

: 5.5 x 0.6 x 8.5 inches
: English
: 978-0230623590

Description

Share on FacebookTweet about this on TwitterShare on TumblrEmail this to someonePrint this pageShare on LinkedInShare on Google+Pin on PinterestShare on YummlyDigg thisFlattr the authorShare on RedditShare on VKShare on StumbleUponBuffer this page

Hollywood’s Exploited: Public Pedagogy, Corporate Movies, and Cultural Crisis edited by Benjamin Frymer, Tony Kashani, Anthony J. Nocella II, and Richard Van Heertum
Date: 2010
Published by Palgrave

__________

Hollywood’s Exploited is an interdisciplinary anthology that provides a compelling analysis of contemporary Hollywood film texts and the larger industry and society in which they develop.
____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

“This is an important text that sheds a powerful new light on the exploitation industry we have come to know as Hollywood. It is a book that demands a close reading.”

–Peter McLaren, Professor of Urban Schooling, University of California, Los Angeles

“A rich and varied collection of commentaries, offering insightful critiques and sociological sensibilities. Of interest to ordinary film buffs and cinematic specialists alike.”

–Michael Parenti, author of Make-Believe Media and Contrary Notions

“For readers of Hollywood’s Exploited, the wisdom will be gained, not received. Against conventional grains, this is an anthology of thoughtful inquiries and tough-minded assessments – challenging us to think anew, and more deeply, about what we see in movies.”

–Norman Solomon, author of The Habits of Highly Deceptive Media; War Made Easy; and The Trouble with Dilbert

“This smart collection reminds us that whatever reality we might observe and investigate is merely the starting point of thought, struggle, and action; standing directly next to whatever the case may be is always what the case could be or should be. Frymer, Kashani, Nocella, and Van Heertum have assembled a mighty chorus urging us to go beneath surface meanings and instant impressions, official policies and commercial messages, political propaganda, controlling myths, received wisdom and the dogma of common sense. We begin to understand, then, the root causes and social context of the taken-for-granted all around us. This is a call-to-arms.”

–William Ayers, Distinguished Professor of Education, University of Illinois at Chicago and author of To Teach

“This book offers the clearest evidence yet of how a supposedly ‘liberal’ Hollywood trades in racial, sexual, and other stereotypes as a matter of course, and why such portrayals of marginalized and otherwise disempowered groups have a profound impact on the public’s appreciation of the various forms of social and political discrimination they still face.”

–Mark LeVine, Professor of Middle Eastern History, University of California, Irvine and author of Why They Don’t Hate Us and Heavy Metal Islam

____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

 

 

Share on FacebookTweet about this on TwitterShare on TumblrEmail this to someonePrint this pageShare on LinkedInShare on Google+Pin on PinterestShare on YummlyDigg thisFlattr the authorShare on RedditShare on VKShare on StumbleUponBuffer this page

Customer Reviews

facilitatory Nocella as an educator has for the last 15 years provided more than 1,500 basic, advanced, and Training for Facilitators collaborative group-building workshops at youth centers, jails, prisons, detention facilities, schools, and college on topics such as negotiation, community circles, conflict transformation, peer-mediation, peace in schools, life skills to youth, hip hop, transformative justice, professional development, diversity and inclusion, environmental education, and curriculum design.
______________________________________
4th Annual 2016 National Week of Action Against Incarcerating Youth in Durango, Colorado



Induction Series 3 Course
Hamline University

Facebook

trainer Nocella with 20 years of community organizing and Leadership experience has provided more than 500 basic and advanced trainings to youth, college students, teachers, unions, and international NGOs for more than a 1,000 organizations such as SEUI, Pax Christi, Greenpeace, Amnesty International, American Friends Service Committee, and Peace Action.



______________________________________
1st Annual International Hip Hop Activism Conference held at Augsburg College, Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA



Minority Groups Course
Hennepin County Community College



Live Tweet

lecturer Nocella, an intersectional scholar and researcher, regularly gives presentations/lecturers/keynotes on the school to prison pipeline, diversity and inclusion, environmental justice, critical animal studies, disability studies, social movements, hip hop politics, peace and conflict studies, crime and social control.





______________________________________
Hip Hop Against Police Brutality Event organized by Save the Kids in Minneapolis, Minnesota



Human Relations/Multicultural Ed Course
St. Cloud State University